Say so long possums, Dame Edna Everage announces farewell UK tour

Drag character created by Australian comic Barry Humphreys will be performing at the London Palladium to say goodbye
16 July 2013 | By Joe Morgan
Dame Edna Everage will be hanging up her heels and saying goodbye to her English possums on a farewell UK tour.

Say so long possums, as Dame Edna Everage is hanging up her heels.

The 79-year-old, portrayed by Australian actor Barry Humphreys, will be finally putting the glittery glasses in her case for good.

To say goodbye, Everage will be performing a full UK tour.

‘I shall be saying farewell to my English possums,’ she told The Guardian.

‘I cannot go on giving, giving, giving, giving. My gynaecologist looked up this morning and said why do you give as much as you do?’

Speaking to the Evening Standard, Everage said: ‘I’m feeling bittersweet at the moment. As I am speaking, I am choking back the waterworks.

‘I’m grieving a little for my career. I never thought the time would come when I hang up my glad rags. I will miss the opportunity to express myself so honestly and directly to people.’

‘I can’t go on doing this forever, waking up in these hotel rooms not knowing where I am,’ she added.

Everage will be performing at the Eat, Pray, Laugh! show around the UK in October and at the London Palladium from 14 November to 8 January.

– See more at: http://www.gaystarnews.com/article/say-so-long-possums-dame-edna-everage-announces-farewell-uk-tour160713#sthash.TRDJMdaQ.dpuf

 

Leave a Reply

